Aug 5, 2011


5 August 2011, PUTRAJAYA : A totally different flavour is set for the 17th edition of Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) with government bodies and states involved as hosts of start and finish venues pledging their full support.

At the race's Main Coordinating Committee (MCC) meeting today the parties reaffirmed their commitment to the cause and it is all systems go for the UCI 2.HC class race set for February 24 to March 4, 2012.

The race is set to see the return of at least two UCI Pro Teams, with American outfit Garmin-Cervelo and Asia's biggest cycling team, Pro Team Astana of Kazakhstan, among the 13 teams already confirmed for the race, which Youth and Sports Committee secretary general Dato’ Mohid Mohamed announced will be expected to feature 22 teams in total.

"All the states and government bodies involved are happy to be chosen and host venues for 2012 and have pledged to give their full support to ensure the success of LTdL," said Dato’ Mohid, who chaired the MCC meeting, which was also attended by National Sports Council director general Dato' Zolkples Embong and Malaysian National Cycling Federation president Tuan Haji Abu Samah Abdul Wahab.

"LTdL's progress for the 2012 is on schedule, the states involved are called much earlier on this time so they can prepare in advance." He added.

Preparation will be vital for this coming edition of LTdL, which will feature 10 stages and some interesting highlights, including an individual time trial in Putrajaya. This will be the first time since 2006 that an individual time trial is included as part of LTdL, held in Melacca.

The historic state of Malacca will host two stage starts and a finish, while the local cycling hotbed of Terengganu will host the final three stage finishes and two starts.

The race, that will cover a total distance of over 1,400 kilometres, will also see the return of lengthy stages, topped by a 215.8 kilometre stage from Bentong to Kuantan on the seventh day of the tour, which comes right after the race's queen stage, the climb up Genting Highlands the previous day.

This, Dato’ Mohid said, is aimed at giving sponsors their desired mileage with the time trial alone set to hit the TV screens live for two hours continuously.

LTdL 2012 will be organised by the National Sports Council as a mark of continuity to the organisation of the Ministry of Youth and Sports in 2010 and 2011 with in collaboration with the Malaysian National Cycling Federation.

The 10 stages includes Putrajaya Individual Time Trial (20.3km); Putrajaya - Melaka (151.0km); Melaka - Parit Sulong (187.6km); Batu Pahat - Muar (169.4km); Ayer Keroh - Pandan Indah (187.2km); Proton Shah Alam - Genting Highlands (108.0km); Bentong - Kuantan (215.8km); Pekan - Chukai (100.8km); Kemasik - Kuala Terengganu (169.4km) and Kuala Terengganu - Kuala Terengganu Loop (110.7km).

The 11 teams were also announced in the press conference, which are:

1. Malaysia National Team
2. Taiwan National Team

3. MTN Quebeca - RSA
4. Aisan Racing Team - Japan
5. Chipotle Development Team - USA
6. PureBlack Racing - New Zealand
7. Drapac Professional Cycling - Australia
8. Max Success Sports - China
9. Terengganu Pro-Asia Cycling Team - Malaysia
10. LeTua Cycling Team - Malaysia

Pro Continental
11. UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team - USA

-Ends -

No comments:

Post a Comment