Oct 28, 2015


KUALA LUMPUR, 28 October 2015 : The region's oldest stage race enters a new era with the Jelajah Malaysia 2015 set to run from December 9th to 13th featuring 20 teams set to light up the five stages.

Entering its 51st year, the Jelajah Malaysia will be run by new event manager Peloton Resources, headed by former national cyclist Musairi Musa with guidance provided by the able hands of the Malaysian National Cycling Federation (MNCF).

At the launch today, MNCF president Dato Haji Abu Samah Wahab announced that six local teams to take on the best in the region will be Angkatan Tentera Malaysia (ATM), Polis DiRaja Malaysia (PDRM), Terengganu Cycling Team (TSG), National Sports Council (NSC) and Dewan Bandaraya Kuala Lumpur (DBKL).

"We expect a strong lineup of teams for this edition, with a challenging route set to be announced at the later date. I am sure, with the capabilities and charisma of our new event managers, the Jelajah Malaysia will be a show that local cycling fans are eager to watch," said Dato Haji Abu Samah.

He added that the main focus for this edition will be the development of the next generation of riders, thus the white jersey for the Best Malaysian Rider previously has now been replaced by the white jersey for the top ranked under-23 rider. The rest of the categories will remain the same with the general classification contenders competing for the yellow jersey for the overall leader, the red jersey for the king of the mountains and blue jersey for the top sprinter in the race.

"We expect the local teams to be fully prepared and be able to challenge for the overall title this time around," added Dato Haji Abu Samah.

At the launch, the organisers also launched the new image of the Jelajah Malaysia with the theme of a new era for the race taking precedence.

"Being half a century old, we hope the Jelajah Malaysia will continue to shine and be a main feature of the annual national cycling calendar for years to come," said Dato Haji Abu Samah.

The Jelajah Malaysia is sanctioned by the International Cycling Union (UCI) as a 2.2 grade event on the UCI Asia Tour calendar and will feature some of the best teams from throughout Asia. The 2014 edition was won by Tunisia's Rafaa Chtioui of the SkyDive Dubai team, with TSG's Harrif Saleh taking the green jersey as the top sprinter, while Indonesia's Dani Lesmana of Pegasus Cycling emerged the best climber.

No comments:

Post a Comment